The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on August 8, 1967 through the Bangkok Declaration. This organisation was established with the aim of enhancing the economic growth and maintaining the stability and security of the region.


ASEAN comprises 10 member countries. In addition to the founding members Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand, ASEAN membership includes Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam. The ASEAN member countries cooperate on political and security, economic and socio-cultural related issues.


The ASEAN Community will be established in 2015 and premised on the three pillars of cooperation, namely ASEAN Political-Security Community, the ASEAN Economic Community and the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community.

As a founding member of ASEAN, the foreign policy of Malaysia continues to emphasise on the relevance and importance of ASEAN, and actively reaffirms its commitment to work within ASEAN to achieve peace, security and prosperity in the region.



ASEAN Leaders during the Opening Ceremony of the 26th ASEAN Summit, 26-27 April, Kuala Lumpur and Langkawi, Malaysia.


Government Agency
UNSC Portal
Visit Asean


OFFICE HOURS : 8.30 AM – 5.30 PM | TEL.NO : +603 – 8000 8000
AFTER OFFICE HOURS : TEL.NO : +603 – 8887 4570
CONSULAR OPERATION HOURS : Monday – Thursday [8.30 AM – 4.00 PM] Friday [8.30 AM – 12.15 PM; 2.45 PM – 4.00PM]
[ Feedback Form ]  [ Feedback Response ]
[ Question & Answer ]