honorary consuls
honorary consuls



In addition to the Embassies, High Commissions, Permanent Missions, Consulates General and Consulates, the Malaysian Government through the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malaysia has also appointed prominent individuals in foreign countries to assist Malaysia in achieving its policy of forging greater people to people contact, enhancing trade and economic activities and extending consular assistance. In this respect, the Ministry has to date, appointed 52 Honorary Consuls in major cities in 39 countries across the globe.


An honorary consul is a lawful citizen/permanent resident of a foreign country who has been authorized by the Malaysian government to perform certain diplomatic functions on its behalf in a designated area or district in a foreign countries.


These Honorary Consuls support Malaysia’s Missions abroad especially in cities beyond the capital where the Missions are usually located. These Honorary Consuls has similar functions to that of a full Consul, but their roles are usually executed part-time, unpaid and less formal. Generally, the Honorary Consuls are to perform certain representational, consular and promotional functions at their designated consular areas such as:

a) Representing Malaysia at any local official functions;
b) Assist Malaysian nationals with legal or immigration problems and may provide intermediary services between a full Malaysian Mission and Malaysians / local public such as extending assistance in visa services and births registration, deaths and marriages, issuance of emergency travel document, notary services, passport distribution etc.
c) Promote economic, political, cultural, educational, business and social ties between Malaysia and the local communities and authorities in their designated area.



Government Agency
Laman Web ISWA
TN50 Portal
Innovation Board


OFFICE HOURS : 8.30 AM – 5.30 PM | TEL.NO : +603 – 8000 8000
AFTER OFFICE HOURS : TEL.NO : +603 – 8887 4570
CONSULAR OPERATION HOURS : Monday – Friday [8.30 AM – 4.00 PM] [Lunch Break - Friday Only : 12.00 Noon - 2.45 PM]
EMAIL : dutyofficer@kln.gov.my
[ Feedback Form ]  [ Feedback Response ]
[ Question & Answer ]