corporate information
corporate information



While the Minister of Foreign Affairs is responsible for the overall performance of the Ministry, the day-to-day administration of the Ministry is handled by the Secretary-General. As the most senior the Secretary-General is responsible for ensuring that all government policies especially on international relations are implemented effectively.


The Secretary-General also advises the Minister on all issues related to policies, positions, roles and policy direction that should be undertaken to ensure that Malaysia’s interests are always protected and promoted. The Secretary-General also ensures that there is strong coordination at all times with other Ministries and government agencies in order to ensure coherent and sound foreign policies objectives.


As the administration of the Ministry involves both broad and specific areas of specialities, the Secretary-General is traditionally assisted by three Deputy Secretaries-General; Deputy Secretary-General (Bilateral Affairs); Deputy Secretary-General (Multilateral Affairs); and Deputy Secretary-General (Management Services).


However, due to the complex and intricate world of diplomacy today, the Secretary-General is also assisted by many other senior Heads of Department that report directly to the Secretary-General. These officials include the Chief of Protocol and Consular, Director General of ASEAN-Malaysia National Secretariat, Director General of Policy, Planning and Coordination, Director General of Communications and Public Diplomacy, Director General of Maritime Affairs, Director General of the Southeast Asia Regional Centre for Counter-Terrorism (SEARCCT), Director General of the Institute of Diplomacy and Foreign Relations (IDFR) and Chairman of the National Authority on Chemical Weapons Convention (NA CWC).


Several Undersecretaries assist the Heads of Department in ensuring the implementation of the foreign policies objectives of the country. They are supported by officers at various levels.


The Ministry of Foreign Affairs currently comprises 11 Departments. In addition, there are 105 overseas Missions as well as 51 Honorary Consuls in major cities in 42 countries worldwide.




Government Agency
Laman Web ISWA
Innovation Board


OFFICE HOURS : 8.30 AM – 5.30 PM | TEL.NO : +603 – 8000 8000
AFTER OFFICE HOURS : TEL.NO : +603 – 8887 4570
CONSULAR OPERATION HOURS : Monday – Friday [8.30 AM – 4.00 PM] [Lunch Break - Friday Only : 12.00 Noon - 2.45 PM]
[ Feedback Form ]  [ Feedback Response ]
[ Question & Answer ]