History History





Malaysia established its diplomatic relations with Kenya in 1965 with the opening of a Trade Office in Nairobi, which was under the Ministry of International Trade and Industry. Kenya established its resident High Commission in Malaysia in 1997, and Malaysia reciprocated by establishing its resident High Commission in Nairobi on 30 September 2005. Prior to that, the Ambassador of Malaysia to Zimbabwe was concurrently accredited to Kenya.


The High Commission is concurrently accredited to Uganda, Tanzania, South Sudan, Burundi and Rwanda. The High Commission also assumed a multilateral role and responsibility as the Permanent Mission of Malaysia to UNEP and UN-Habitat at the United Nations Offices Nairobi (UNON).  


Currently the Mission is headed by the High Commissioner, H.E. Loh Seck Tiong and staffed by three Home Based Staff and 14 Locally Recruited Staff. The High Commission is located at Block 91/404, Gigiri Grove, P.O. Box 42286-00100, Nairobi, Kenya.


The former High Commissioners / Permanent Representatives: H.E. Selwyn Das (30 Sept 2005 – 10 Jan 2009), H.E. Zainol Rahim Zainuddin (15 Dec 2009 – 30 April 2011) and H.E Ismail Hj. Salam (2 May 2012 – 1 June 2017).

No Information