Visa Requirement Visa Requirement

Every person entering Malaysia must possess a valid Passport or internationally recognized Travel Document valid. The document shall be valid, for more than six (6) months from the date of entry into Malaysia.


The above nationals are required to apply for visa to enter Malaysia. A visa is an endorsement in a passport or other recognized travel document indicating that the holder has applied for permission to enter Malaysia and that permission has been granted. Visa which has been granted is not absolute guarantee that the holder will be allowed to enter Malaysia. The final decision lies with the Immigration Officer at the entry point.


Visa Application Requirements

Two copies of visa forms to be filled and signed;

  • A valid travelling document with at least 6 month validity;
  • No Objection Letter from Company/Sponsors (for individuals/family members);
  • A Copy of Labor Contract or Salary Certificate (AED 4000) of applicants/sponsors for spouse/children of sponsors;
  • Two passport size photographs;
  • Confirmed hotel booking;
  • Confirmed return ticket;
  • For Business visa, an invitation letter is required. For multiple entry business visa, an interview would be conducted;
  • Photocopy of passport; and
  • This constitutes minimum requirements - additional documents may be asked.


Under normal circumstances, it will take one or two working days to process the application.



*** Visa application form can be downloaded from


Visa on Arrival

How to Apply:

1. 1 set of form IM. 47 - Pin. 1/97
2. Confirmed return ticket
3. To provide address in Malaysia

VOA Is Issued At The Following Entry Checkpoints:

Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA), Sepang
Penang International Airport, Penang
Senai International Airport, Johor
Kuching International Airport, Sarawak
Kota Kinabalu International Airport, Sabah
Kompleks Sultan Abu Bakar (Second Link), Tanjung Kupang, Johor
Bangunan Sultan Iskandar, Bukit Chagar, Johor Bahru, Johor

Duration Of Stay :

14 days.

Fees :


Who Is Not Eligible for VOA

1. Citizens of African countries as follows :

( i ) Angola
( ii ) Burkina Faso
( iii ) Burundi
( iv ) Cameroon
( v ) Central African Republic
( vi ) Cote d'Ivoire
( vii ) Republic Congo
( viii ) Democratic Republic of Congo
( ix ) Djibouti
( x ) Equatorial Guinea
( xi ) Eritrea
( xii ) Ethiopia
( xiii ) Guinea - Bissau
( xiv ) Ghana
( xv ) Liberia
( xvi ) Mali
( xvii ) Mozambique
( xviii ) Niger
( xix ) Nigeria
( xx ) Rwanda

2. Citizens of Afghanistan**

3. Citizens of Colombia

4. Citizens of India**

5. Citizens of Israel

6. Citizens of Pakistan**

7. Citizens of Republic of Montenegro

8. Citizens of Republic of Serbia

9. Citizens of Sri Lanka**

VOA issuance can be considered to citizens of India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, if they hold valid permanent residence, expatriate pass, dependant pass, student pass and long term visit pass from other countries.


VOA issuance also can be considered to citizens of Afghanistan, if they hold diplomatic or official passport.



Country Without Visa VWTR VWR
On Arrival Extension On Arrival Extension On Arrival Extension
  Turkey 3 mths - 3 mths 2 mths 3 mths 3 mths
  ** VWTR

- Visa Without Reference (Visa is issued by Malaysian mission in the respective country)


- Visa With Reference (Visa is approved by the Immigration Department)