The Federation of Reproductive Health Associations, Malaysia (FRHAM) was awarded the prestigious UN Population Award 2012 (Institutional Category) at the United Nations Headquarters, New York, on 8 June 2012. Professor Mary Huang Soo Lee, Chairman of FRHAM, received the award from Her Excellency Ms. Asha-Rose Migiro, Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations, in the award presentation ceremony held at the UN ECOSOC Chambers. The ceremony was attended by 130 invitees, including Permanent Representatives of foreign missions to the United Nations in New York and heads of NGOs.
The award is presented annually to individuals and institutions for the most outstanding contribution to the awareness of population questions or to their solutions. The laureates are selected by the Committee for the United Nations Population Award, elected by the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). For 2012, the Government of Malaysia, through Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development, nominated FRHAM for the award, and FRHAM was successfully selected as the winner after receiving the most votes from the award committee members, in a meeting held in March 2012. Malaysia’s last recipient of the same award was the National Population and Family Development Board (LPPKN) in 2007.
FRHAM was selected in recognition of its achievements in advocacy for reproductive health, advancing the health and status of women and children in Malaysia through promoting family planning; for its success in serving every one (1) out of every four (4) new users of family planning services and one-sixth of all users of family planning services in Malaysia. FRHAM also brought high visibility to family planning in Malaysia and elsewhere in Asia with the promotion of the motto “Not too early, not too late and not too close”, and was also recognized for its effort and commitment to improving the lives of disadvantaged communities, including refugees, sexually vulnerable people, transsexuals and marginalized youth at juvenile homes and orphanages.
Professor Mary Huang Soo Lee, in FRHAM’s acceptance statement, expressed the Federation’s gratitude to the Government of Malaysia for the support extended in its outreach activities, aimed at providing reproductive health services in Malaysia. Professor Mary Huang Soo Lee was accompanied by Tan Sri Napsiah Omar, the Chairman of LPPKN, and HE Ambassador Dato’ Hussein Haniff, Permanent Representative of Malaysia to the UN, during the award ceremony. Ms. Adrienne Germain from United States of America was awarded the UN Population Award for the individual category, for her decades’ long contribution in linking population policies with the status of women and promotion of sexual and reproductive health and reproductive rights.
Permanent Mission of Malaysia to the United Nations
New York
8 June 2012