History History

The Permanent Mission of Malaysia to ASEAN (PTM ASEAN) was established and began operations on 7 January 2009 in accordance with Article 12(1) of the ASEAN Charter, which came into force on 15 December 2008. Since its establishment, PTM ASEAN has contributed to the work of ASEAN towards achieving a unified region in the areas of political-security, economic and socio-cultural through a brotherly relations and cooperation with other ASEAN Member States.

PTM ASEAN is currently headed by H.E. Ambassador Kamsiah Kamaruddin, Permanent Representative of Malaysia to ASEAN, who presented her Letter of Credence to H.E. Dato Lim Jock Hoi, Secretary-General of ASEAN on 7 August 2019. She is assisted by a Deputy Permanent Representative, two Counsellors, a First Secretary, two Second Secretaries, an Office Secretary, an Administrative Assistant and four Locally Recruited Staff (LRS).

Former Permanent Representatives of Malaysia to ASEAN are:

1. H.E. Dato' Hsu King Bee (1.7.2009 - 1.1.2012)
2. H.E. Dato' Hasnudin Hamzah (27.2.2012 - 14.7.2016)
3. H.E. Dato' Shariffah Norhana Syed Mustafa (18.8.2016 - 6.8.2019)