Head of Mission Head of Mission

His Excellency Dato' Tan Yang Thai is currently the High Commissioner of Malaysia to Sri Lanka and Maldives.  He presented his credentials to President Maithripala Sirisena on 6 September 2018 and President Ibrahim Solih on 10 February 2019.


Prior to Sri Lanka, from January 2017 to July 2018, he was the Undersecretary of South & Central Asia Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Malaysia.


Since joining the Malaysian Foreign Service in 1995, he has served abroad as the Consul General to Shanghai, People’s Republic of China (2014-2017); Minister Counsellor at the Embassy of Malaysia in Moscow, Russia (2011-2014) and Second Secretary at the Embassy of Malaysia in Tashkent, Uzbekistan (1999-2002).


At the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Malaysia, His Excellency Dato' Tan Yang Thai has held positions in various capacities, under the Department of Bilateral Affairs, Department of Management Services and ASEAN National Secretariat.


He holds a B.A. (Hons) from University of Keele, United Kingdom and Master in International Relations from Waseda University, Japan.





H.E. Tengku Indra Petra                                             1967


H.E. Mohamed Sophie                                               1972


H.E. Mustapha Mohamed                                          1976


H.E. Kalid Abdul Karim                                               1979


H.E. Anthony Yeo                                                       1983


H.E. Abdul Karim Marzuki                                          1986


H.E. Dato’ Seri Omardin Datuk Abdul Wahab           1990


H.E. Abdul Kadir Mohd Deen                                     1992


H.E. Shamsuddin Abdullah                                         1997


H.E. Datuk Iskandar Sarudin                                      2000


H.E. Dato’ Nazirah Hussain                                        2004


H.E. Datuk Rosli Ismail                                               2007


H.E. Azmi Zainuddin                                                   2011


H.E. Datuk Wan Zaidi Wan Abdullah                          2016