for foreigners for foreigners

Entry Requirements/conditions for foreigners visiting or temporary stay in Malaysia

  1. Holding a valid passport or a valid travel document with a validity of MORE than 6 months
  2. Obtain a valid VISA (for nationals that requires a visa to enter Malaysia)
  3. Having sufficient financial provisions to sustain the period of stay in Malaysia
  4. Applicant is not registered under the Suspect List of the Immigration Department of Malaysia or the stolen Lost Travel Document (STLD) system
  5. Applicant is not categorized as a prohibited immigrant

Website: or 


Visa Waiver for Indian Nationals (as of 1 January 2024)

The Republic of India passport holders travelling to Malaysia from 1 December 2023 until 31 December 2024 are eligible for visa-free entry into Malaysia, which permits a stay of up to 30 days for each entry and visit to the country.


In this regard, Indian passport holders are required to ensure the fulfillment of the criteria and provide supporting documents during the security and immigration screenings at the port of entry, as follows:


  1. The passport validity must be at least six (6) months;
  2. Confirmed Return Flight Tickets;
  3. Confirmed Hotel Booking;
  4. Proof of sufficient financial provisions;
  5. Compulsory online submission of the Malaysia Digital Arrival Card (MDAC) three (3) days before the arrival date. The online MDAC forms for international travellers are available via



  1. eVisa is applicable for foreigners (non-Malaysian) who require a visa to enter Malaysia. (eVISA is not applicable for foreigners residing in Malaysia, Singapore, and countries that do not has a diplomatic relationship with Malaysia) 
  2. Applicants must submit an eVISA application from the country of residence.
  3. Online application available at Detailed information, instruction, terms, and conditions of the eVISA application are also available on the website.
  4. All applications and payments are to be submitted online. Relevant fees/charges for eVISA are:
    • Visa Fee: according to the nationality
    • Processing Fee: RM105
    • Convenience Fee:  a. e-Commerce / Mastercard Payment (0.8% from the transaction amount)
    •                                b. eWallet: Alipay / WechatPay / UnionPay (1.7% from the transaction amount)
  5. All required information must be provided, and please ensure all uploaded documents fulfilled the required specification to avoid rejection.
  6. A copy of the approved eVISA must be printed on A4 size paper. The printed eVISA must be presented at Malaysia entry checkpoints upon arrival.
  7. For further inquiry, please email

Website: or 


Authorized agent to process eVisa  *new as of 15 November 2022

  1. To ensure smooth applications of eVisa to enter Malaysia, the Malaysian government has appointed three (3) authorized agents which are Malaysia Visa Application Centre (Malaysia VAC), the Malaysia Visa Service - VLN, and Malaysia Visa Application Centre (MVAC) to process all eVisa applications. 
  2. Applications eVisa for the category Foreign Worker will only be accepted through Malaysia Visa Application Centre (Malaysia VAC), Malaysia Visa Service - VLN and MVAC only.
  3. Meanwhile, applications eVisa for other categories are applicable via Malaysia VAC, Malaysia VLN, MVAC and website:
  4. Further information can be obtained through the website: www.malaysiavac.com and 


Transit Without Visa (TWOV) (remain currently suspended)

1. TWOV facility is offered only to Indian Sub Continental Countries citizens.

2. TWOV cannot be given to visitors who do not possess visa from the 3rd country of destination as follows:

  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand
  3. United States of America
  4. Japan
  5. China
  6. Taiwan
  7. South Korea

3. TWOV facility cannot exceed more than 120 hours (5 days).

4. TWOV facility is only available at the entry point of Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and Kuala Lumpur International Airport 2 (KLIA2)

5. TWOV cannot be offered to passengers sponsored by airlines other than Malaysia Airlines, Air Asia, and Malindo Air. At present only these 3 airlines have agreed and accepted all terms and conditions imposed by the Malaysian Government. 

6. TWOV cannot be given to visitors who do not meet the following requirement: 

  1. Valid national passport or internationally recognized travel document;
  2. Travel documents valid for more than six (6) months from the date of entry;
  3. A return ticket to country of origin/confirmed ticket to third country; and
  4. Not listed in the Immigration Department’s suspected list.

7. There will be no extension of TWOV facility.

8. Permanent residents and long-term pass holders are not bound to any of the TWOV regulations and conditions stipulated above.

9. TWOV will be issued free of charge at the Visa on Arrival counter at the immigration clearance upon arrival.


Visa on Arrival (VOA)


Visa on Arrival facility is available for citizens of the PRC and India with the following conditions : 


i) Visitors arriving in Malaysia via Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia, or Brunei only (with a valid visa from either country)

ii) Visitors coming in from either four countries through the entrance as follows:


Air Route

a) Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA)

b) Kuala Lumpur International Airport 2 (KLIA2)

c) Bayan Lepas International Airport, Pulau Pinang

d) Sultan Ismail, Senai Airport, Johor

e) Kota Kinabalu International Airport, Sabah

f) Kuching International Airport, Sarawak

g) Langkawi International Airport, Kedah

h) Miri Airport, Sarawak

i) Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport, Selangor


Land Route

a) Tuas (Singapore)- Sultan Abu Bakar Complex (Second Link)(Malaysia) 

b) Immigration Control Post, Sungai Tujoh, Sarawak

c) Immigration, Customs, Quarantine and Security Complex (ICQS) Bukit Kayu Hitam, Kedah


Sea Route

Immigration Control Post, Labuan International Terminal Ferry ONLY


VOA fees is RM200.00 and visitors must show that they have at least USD500 cash (or equivalent in Ringgit Malaysia) and a confirmed return ticket. 


Visitors are only allowed to stay for 15 days. Enforcement action based on the Immigration Act and Regulations will be taken against those who stay beyond the allowed duration.



Transit Visa 


Kindly be informed that you do not need any visa during transit if your flights are booked under a single PNR and you have no plans to leave the transit hall. 


Should the bookings made under separate PNR, and you need to go through custom and immigration checks to check in for your next flight/luggage in Kuala Lumpur / change airport from KLIA to KLIA2/ leave the airport/boarding area; then you need to apply for Malaysia visa before travelling.


Changing terminals within the same airport (KLIA/KLIA2) is fine as you do not need to go through immigration clearance.



Updated as of 6 August 2022